Returning to the Country Life

Although I didn’t  technically grow up on a farm, I did spend nearly every possible moment, weekend or vacation I had while growing up on my grandparent’s farm in Central Minnesota.

Farm Life in the 1950’s and 1960’s wasn’t as large scale as things are now and I learned a lot of life lessons from my Garndma Millie.  I think many of those life lessons and memories I have from those years are what planted the idea of eventually getting back to the farm.

Now, as I find myself not too many years away from retirement, the opportunity has presented itself

I was recently able to make a great deal on a few acres in Northern California.  My plan is to move there in a few years and start an Organic  Market Farm & Mandarin Orchard, while working with my son Scott to build a serious operation.

Since I have been a city dweller for so many years, I need to get back into the hang of things, so to speak.  This blog is nothing more than a documentation of my journey, first building a small operation here in Texas, and then building again when we relocate to California.

Texas has a lot of oppotunity though too.  One thing that amazes me here, is the scarcity of good local produce.  Stores carry very little of most commonly found produce ( have yet to find fresh peas, organic or otherwise).  And most citrus other than grapefruit comes from California, even though it grows here quite easily.

I hope to share my discoveries on gardening vegetables, and citrus, and even the biggest pain in my life – deer control.

Let me know your experiences too.

Leave a comment