Where Bambi Goes – Nothing Grows

Deer Damage

Black Eyed Susans after the deer finished with them.

Ever since I began the Garden project and started looking into putting up a deer fence, some friends living around the country asked why? They’re so cute, and ” Gee, I wish they were in my yard”.

 Deer are so prevalent around this part of Texas that they are not very afraid of humans. About the only predator is the automobile. You can see the results along the road before the local vulture “clean-up crew” arrives.

This photo shows what happens when you try to plant something without thorns or a fence, These were Black-Eyed Susans I raised from seeds.  My wife wanted something around the base of a small windmill we have to dress it up. I was afraid of the deer, but decided to try it anyway. All was fine for several weeks, and they grew and grew.  Needless to say I was surprised. One morning when I went out to check on everything this is what we found.

The deer had found them quite tasty and cut them off like they were hit with an old fashioned Scythe.

The next time you see some “cute” little Bambi, think twice before feeding them. They do fine on their own

Leave a comment